Band Members

Select album to play

Johnny Rioux
Jason Bancroft
Neil DuFour
Hugh Morrison

Houston based Murder the Stout (MTS) formed in 2004.They play progressive Celtic Rock music led by native Scotsman, Hugh Morrison, on lead vocals & squeezebox. Also in the lineup are Kevin Murphy (elec guitar) Neil DuFour (acoustic guitar) Johnny Rioux (mandolin) David Schaefer (whistles) Marcus Hollar (banjo) Jason Bancroft (bass) & Pete Sosa(drums).

MTS have been compared to a Scottish version of The Pogues, with folk, rock, punk & ska influences all apparent in their music.

MTS released a 7 track EP in Dec 2011 to much critical acclaim prompting multiple label interest and work is now on for a 2nd full length studio album, to be produced by Street Dogs’ Johnny Rioux, whose recent work includes Flatfoot 56 and Roger Miret
& the Disasters.

MTS have toured the south a few times and as recently as December 2011 joined Boston Punk Rockers, STREET DOGS on their 3 week 7th Annual nationwide Wreck the Halls tour.

2012 sees Europe beckon as well as touring the USA as they are booked to play many festivals across the States. They have also shared the stage with many national acts passing through Texas.

David Lerner
Pete Sosa
Kevin Murphy
David Schaefer

previous next